Mental Health Awareness in Buddhism

Phra Soravit Duangchai


The topic of this article is “Mental Health Awareness in Buddhism” It was discussed about Mental Health on Buddhism. Mental health is defined as a state of well-being in which every individual realizes his or her own potential. It can cope with the normal stresses of life, work productively and fruitfully, and be able to make a contribution to her or his community. First, the Buddha taught, the monks should not follow two extremes ways;   1. The Extreme of sensual indulgence and   2 The Extreme of self-mortification. The monks should go on the Middle Way; The Noble Eight Fold Path consisting of 1. Right Understanding   2/ Right Thought 3. Right Speech 4. Right Action 5. Right Livelihood    6. Right Effort 7. Right Mindfulness 8. Right Concentration.The Buddha preached the Four Noble Truths: 1.Dukkha: (Suffering) the reality of affliction and impermanence. Birth, old age, disease and death etc.           2. Samudaya (cause of suffering) Arising (reaction) & Attachment (distraction) Sensory Attachment Becoming (self-formation) Non-Becoming (self-destruction) 3. Nirodha (cessation of suffering) Containment, stopping, unhooking 4. Magga (paths leading to the cessation of suffering) Path and Bhāvanā (Development) 1.Kaya-bhavana:physical development) 2.Sala-bhavana:moral development 3.Citta-bhavana:emotional development and Paan-bhavana : wisdom development and The  four  foundations  of  mindfulness  have  a  single  essence mindful  contemplation  of  natural  phenomena.  They  are  differentiated  insofar  as  this  mindful  contemplation  is  applied  to  four  objects :  1.the  body  (kaya);  2.The feelings (vedana); 3.States of consciousness (citta);  and  4.mental objects(dhamma). This is the Dharma for practice and Develop Mental Health.

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Buddhapanya Sri Thawarawadee Buddhist College,
Mahachulalongkornrajavidyalaya University
51 M.2, Raikhing, Samphran, Nakhon Pathom, 73210, Thailand